Hide Profile data and Sections
When working within a Section, you'll notice the Hide option. The eye symbol allows you to hide a Section, Attribute, Tag or Custom Event from activities and Profiles in Audience.
Hiding is different than deleting. When you choose to hide, you don't delete any data from your account. Hiding allows you to prevent any users from working with the Section or Profile data. Existing activities and integrations will continue to work as before.
Also, when working with the APSIS One API, hidden Sections and Profile data can still be used.
Effects of hiding
Marketing Automation flows that listen, check or update hidden Profile data will continue to work as before.
Email messages, both from the Email and Marketing Automation tool, will be sent according to schedule. If these emails have a Data Tag that corresponds with a hidden Attribute, it will not be removed. Any Segmentation or Tag filtering applied to these sendings that depend on hidden data will not be affected.
Templates and Assets are available account-wide to all users. If a Template or Asset contains a Data Tag that corresponds with a hidden Attribute or Section, it will show with its Attribute ID instead of its regular name on Preview, and will be replaced with the Attribute value for each recipient. In short, Data Tags in Templates and Assets will work as before the Attribute was hidden.
Forms & Pages activities will continue to collect Profile data. So, if a Section is hidden, active Forms from that Section will continue to receive Profile data as visitors complete your form.
Any operations or calls made with the APSIS One API will not be affected in any way; you will still be able to work within the hidden Section or Profile data.
Segments that contain hidden Profile data will keep the hidden Attribute, Tag, etc. However, you cannot add hidden Profile data into Segments. If you remove a condition that corresponds with any hidden Profile data, it cannot be added again while it's still hidden.
If you hide a Section, Profiles that contain data related to multiple Sections will still be available in APSIS One, and only the data that corresponds with the hidden section will be hidden from the Profile.
Active activities (like Marketing Automation flows) and Section integrations, as well as sent Email or SMS activities that exist within a hidden Section will continue to work as before the Section was hidden. Nothing will be paused or interrupted, and Reports will continue to be available.
All activities that belong to a hidden Section will still appear within each tool's Start Page, with an icon that signals that it's been hidden. You can filter activities from hidden Sections with the Activity Page Filters.
When working with the File Import Wizard, bear in mind that you cannot apply hidden Tags to Profiles based on a column value when this specific hidden Tag has been applied to Profiles before. New Tag values in the column's rows will be applied to Profiles as tags.